Croque Le Food

Sweet Sugar Cookies Of Mine

This Christmas, I really want to spoil my family and hand out tons of home-made cookies. Ok. I know what you think : “No gifts but cookies. Typical broke gesture”. And you would be right ! But I am broke with care!

Before doing anything I lined up my precious possessions : newly-acquired cookie cutouts (broke BUT I needed to buy 3 sizes of Christmas trees cutouts, I mean come on!):

IMG_3843So the very first thing I needed to get my hands on was the perfect sugar cookies recipe. So I immediatly think : Martha Stewart. She is going to be my Christmas saviour!

And as I eagerly typed in the recipe, here is what I found:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Assorted candies, sprinkles, or colored sugars, for decorating (optional)

So here I went, even adding a little early Christmas spirit with some Sinatra’s songs. I lined up almost all the ingredients on the table when I realized two things:

1/ I didn’t have granulated sugar anymore (thank you to my sugar trials)

2/ I didn’t have baking powder

That didn’t dampen my cheerful spirit:

Ingredients (Croque La Lune style)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar : brown sugar instead! (isn’t it supposed to be better for your health? Mmmm…)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract : orange blossom instead! (might it become a recipe for cookies à la crêpe ?)
  • Assorted candies, sprinkles, or colored sugars, for decorating (optional) : naaaaaah. Just royal icing ! (let’s be reasonable, after all it’s night cooking session after my one-year old daughter has fallen asleep)

So there I went! The texture was great to work with, I always get a kick out of shaping a perfect (in my eyes) cookie dough:

IMG_3859

I then put these beauties in the oven for 10 minutes under 190 °C ( I recommend to watch regularly, you don’t want them to get too brownish).

After getting the sugar cookies out, I gingerly started working on my royal icing. Ahhhhh royal icing. For me, its the absolute must for cookies and my dream is to get the perfect consistency (not getting the icing to overfill the cookies) and crunchiness.

As I was into a full Martha Stewart mood, I decided to continue on a culinary righteous path:

Ingredients

  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 5 tablespoons pasteurized egg whites
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

And this time I had all the ingredients ! You might be wondering what “creme of tartar” is. No it has nothing to do with the salmon or beef tartare (I had to make the joke).

Cream of tartar, more technically known as potassium hydrogen tartrate, is a fine white powder with many culinary applications. You can buy some at G.Detou if you’re in Paris in the second arrondissement. It’s an amazing shop where you can litteraly find anything.

Where was I?

Ah yes royal icing! Once I made the icing, I had to apply them to my cookies. It’s always very tricky and requires a lot of patience:

IMG_3869

I will definitely do a post specifically on icing and my little tricks…

‘Till then, merry pre-Christmas cooking sessions!

IMG_3879

*****

Here are the links:

http://www.marthastewart.com/338471/basic-sugar-cookies

http://www.marthastewart.com/284123/royal-icing

 

 

Leave a Reply

